Hope to die

 


The gripping new serial killer thriller, from the runaway bestselling author of CRY BABY. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Peter James.

 

On a bitterly cold winter's night, Liverpool is left stunned by a brutal murder in the grounds of the city's Anglican Cathedral. A killer is on the loose, driven by a chilling rage.

 

Put on the case, DS Nathan Cody is quickly stumped. Wherever he digs, the victim seems to be almost angelic - no-one has a bad word to say, let alone a motive for such a violent murder.

 

And Cody has other things on his mind too. The ghosts of his past are coming ever closer, and - still bearing the physical and mental scars - it's all he can do to hold onto his sanity.

 

And then the killer strikes again . . .


About David Jackson


David Jackson 

 


I am the author of a series of crime thrillers featuring Irish-American NYPD Detective Callum Doyle. The first in the series, Pariah, was Highly Commended in the Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger Awards. It is published by Pan Macmillan. The follow-ups are The Helper and Marked, and I am hard at work on the fourth in the series. My writing influences include Ed McBain, Dennis Lehane, George Pelecanos, Robert Crais, Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben, amongst many others. My favourite quote about my work is one from the Guardian, now carried on the front of my novels: 'Recalls Harlan Coben - though for my money Jackson is the better writer.'

 

Website

 

Twitter

 


My Review

 

This is the first book by David Jackson that I've read and I found myself gripped by tension as the body count mounted. I read a lot of crime thrillers though and I'm pleased that even for an avid fan there were still a few surprises.I worked out the red herring but still didn't spot the killer so well done for that. I did find myself wishing I had read the firstt in the series as there were a lot of references to a previous case, which has had repercussions for Cody and affects his relationship with his colleague, an aspect of the book that I particularly enjoyed. Although the ending of the book is neatly resolved regarding the killers, Cody's personal and mental issues are not so it looks like I'm going to have to read the rest of the series to find out what is behind his nightmares. All in all a read that will keep you turning the page, full of emotional suspense, clever without being contrived.

 

5/5

 

 

Write a new comment: (Click here)

SimpleSite.com
Characters left: 160
DONE Sending...
See all comments

| Reply

Latest comments

19.09 | 08:04

I really did - lovely read

...
18.09 | 18:46

Many, many thanks for your fabulous review of Summer Sundaes, I'm thrilled you enjoyed reading it. xxx

...
10.05 | 20:40

Mary reading this is fabulous and it will also give help to other people trying to write I love your books roll on 18th may can't wait you are an inspiration x

...
10.05 | 11:34

Mary Wood is a fabulous author and definitely one of my favourites. She is a born storyteller, whose characters will live in your mind and heart.

...
You liked this page
Hi!
Make your own website like I did.
It's easy, and absolutely free.
AD