The Blake Mistake

Three characters and a life-changing event.


Ben Blake; British intelligence agent, intellectual genius, striking appearance, impeccable acting skills and a heightened sixth sense, all concealed behind a solid impenetrable mask.


Jake Snell; the rugged eleventh Earl of Yorkley, the extremely bright cardiac surgeon, the loving husband, the devoted father, the enigma whose criminal past gives British intelligence another perspective from the other side of the fence.


Emma Snell; the talented actress who denounces her claim to fame and glory and becomes a stay-at-home mother. She finds the trapdoor in the edge of the woods surrounding her husband’s stately home. She has no idea of the horror that had taken place in the hidden rooms or how this would play into her future.


The London bombing; Ben foresees it, Jake thwarts it and destiny is rewritten, spewing forth a cataclysmic course of events as all the domino pieces begin to fall. Snippets of Jake’s violent and forgotten childhood start to surface his conscious mind and his perfect life begins to break apart before his very own eyes. Women he comes in contact with are found dead bearing a particular signature linked with his childhood. He starts to doubt his hidden suppressed half. He has to unlock his memories and search deep within the bowels of his vast ancestral home if he is to ever save his wife and tame the brutal destiny he himself had unleashed.


The Blake Mistake is all about insecurities, unconditional love and that desperate run against the flowing sands of time.


Book Links;


Author Links


About the author

I C Camilleri is a medical doctor. Her first novel, The Blake Curse was published in March 2012. A year later it was nominated for The People's Book Prize UK, a national competition voted for by the public. After a three month vote The Blake Curse became one of the three finalists in the Summer 2013 Collection.


Her next two novels, The Blake Soul and The Blake Mistake were published in 2013. Each book in the Blake series could be read as a stand-alone.


Week of Lies is her fourth novel, a revenge thriller/romance published in 2014.


My Review



This is the third book in the series and I would thoroughly recommend that you read them all. If you have, then the characters by now will have become very familiar yet each book brings a completely fresh story to the reader. Naturally, to ensure that it can be read as a standalone there is a fair amount of backfilling, yet the writer is so skilled at portraying twists and turns with yet more twists and turns to follow that you barely notice. Personally, I think the series gets better and better and the idea of twisting the future by our actions is very clever as just when you think you are familiar with the scenario, there is a complete scene shift. Some of the twists you will no doubt figure out but there will still be plenty that will leave you shocked. A fascinating read and an original plot.




Write a new comment: (Click here)
Characters left: 160
DONE Sending...
See all comments

| Reply

Latest comments

Yesterday | 22:25

Wonderful review, for a wonderful lady and Author.

Yesterday | 20:12

Great review for an equally great book by Mary

Yesterday | 18:26

When reading all the reviews I just can not wait to read this for myself. I adore stories of hardship and how they unfold and hopefully have a good ending.

Yesterday | 17:22

Another great review for a brilliant author.

You liked this page
Make your own website like I did.
It's easy, and absolutely free.