Kill me twice

‘They got the right matches. But did they get the right person?’

 

Kill Me Twice: A compulsively gripping thriller perfect for fans of
 Harlan Coben (A Morgan Vine Thriller) by [Booker, Simon]

This summer Simon Booker is back. The prime-time TV murder mystery writer, with a voice that reads like ‘Val McDermid meets Stephen King’ (Hadley Freeman), returns with Kill Me Twice, and we’d love for you to take part in the blog tour to launch this book.

Kill Me Twice finds investigative journalist Morgan Vine on the rise, her ‘one woman innocence project’ book become a bestseller, and she’s the go-to for everyone trying to overturn a wrongful conviction. But one of these cases catches her eye more than most…

Anjelica Fry is in prison for murdering her ex, Karl Savage, in an arson attack. Multiple forensic experts testified to finding his charred remains. Proving her innocence seems an impossible task. . It doesn't matter that Karl was abusive. That Anjelica has a baby to care for. That she's petrified of fire. The whole world knows Karl is dead.

Then he turns up outside Morgan's window . . .
A compulsively gripping thriller with a truly kick-ass female lead in Morgan Vine, Simon Booker turns up the heat in this follow up to his critically acclaimed debut Without Trace.

 

 

My writing day – Simon Booker 

 

Being a full-time writer has one key advantage over most other jobs: as long as I get my daily word count done  - approx 1,000 words a day – I can work when I choose and only ever have to set an alarm clock when catching a train or due in town for a meeting.

 

I’m a conscientious type, so when I was writing the first Morgan Vine thriller, WITHOUT TRACE, and now the second in the series, KILL ME TWICE, I tend to keep office hours. I work best in the morning, usually after a cuppa and a run in the park, so I’ve got some exercise ‘in the bank’ and don’t feel too bad about the sedentary, desk-bound day that lies ahead.

 

My cat Minou (see attached pic) likes to watch me work, which I find a) distracting and b) delightful. The writer’s life can be lonesome, so it’s great to have some companionship, even if her favourite place is often lying on my keyboard.

 

When it comes to procrastination and distraction, Twitter is the devil’s work. One click and you can disappear down a rabbit hole for hours, following links and reading articles that have nothing to do with ‘research’. I try not to get sucked in too often but the truth is, it’s become an addiction. Still, at least it’s less harmful than smoking, which used to be my hobby.

 

After a sandwich lunch at the desk, I usually have a kip for half an hour or so. Let’s face it, we all experience the after-lunch slump, and I know I’ll write better in the afternoon, feeling refreshed after a siesta. (I refuse to call it a nap: much too elderly.) 

 

Then I’ll work until Channel 4 News at 7pm. That marks the finish line of the writing day, or at least, the end of the official working part. The truth is that writers’ brains are always whirring away on their work-in-progress. Someone once said that writing is the only job where you feel like you have homework every night of your life. I tend to agree. But it’s a privilege to be able to write full-time, one I will never take for granted. 

 

My second thriller, KILL ME TWICE, sees single mum and investigative journalist Morgan Vine still living in her isolated house on the beach at Dungeness. She takes on a new miscarriage of justice, fighting to prove the innocence of a woman imprisoned for murdering her lover in an arson attack. The whole world knows the man is dead. But then he walks past Morgan’s window…

 

If you’d like a FREE 26-page short story, in which Morgan must outwit a dangerous escaped prisoner who takes her hostage in her isolated home, please go to simonbooker.com

 

My Review

 

I liked the premise of this one and it didn't disappoint. A well-written and well-plotted thriller that I enjoyed immensely. The relationship between journalist Morgan Vine and the prisoner whose innocence she is trying to prove is interesting and the sub-story involving Morgan's daughter is equally fascinating as is Morgan's relationship with the police. My only criticism if any is that there were a lot of other subsidiary characters which meant I kept forgetting who they were and had to go back to check. That was only a minor irritation in an otherwise excellent read.

 

4/5

                                                             

Write a new comment: (Click here)

SimpleSite.com
Characters left: 160
DONE Sending...
See all comments

| Reply

Latest comments

19.09 | 08:04

I really did - lovely read

...
18.09 | 18:46

Many, many thanks for your fabulous review of Summer Sundaes, I'm thrilled you enjoyed reading it. xxx

...
10.05 | 20:40

Mary reading this is fabulous and it will also give help to other people trying to write I love your books roll on 18th may can't wait you are an inspiration x

...
10.05 | 11:34

Mary Wood is a fabulous author and definitely one of my favourites. She is a born storyteller, whose characters will live in your mind and heart.

...
You liked this page
Hi!
Make your own website like I did.
It's easy, and absolutely free.
AD